Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is evidence based practice?
Evidence Based Practice Guide
This guide from the library has more information about evidence based practice, levels of evidence, and suggested places to find evidence.
Logging into library resources (OpenAthens)
In order to use library resources, you will need to login. PA College and Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health users can use their respective credentials to login to library resources.
Suggested library databases to find evidence based practice
The world's most comprehensive source for nursing & allied health research, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature). Also includes significant content from the Medline database.
MEDLINE COMPLETE (EBSCO Platform)
MEDLINE is the gold standard repository for medical literature, provided and maintained by the National Library of Medicine. This resource provides access to millions of articles in medicine and the health sciences, including full text links to more than 1,470 journals. This database is available via three platforms: Ebsco MEDLINE with Full Text ; Pubmed (the NLMs interface); and Ovid MEDLINE.
Discover Tool (Summon)
Search virtually ALL of the library's databases from a single access point! Removes the guesswork of choosing a single source, and is a great place to quickly research across numerous resources simultaneously.
- Different databases search different sets of publications and work differently. As a result, you might have more luck in one database over another.
- Different combinations of words will bring back different results, so if your first combination does not get you what you want, try another.
- The database is trying to match the words you searched with items in that database. Think about what words the author might have used to describe their work. For example, an author might have tested a particular technique, but not use the word positive or negative to explain their results, so searching for those words might not get your many results. Instead, you might need to read articles on your topic and determine what the positives were.
Need more help?
Need some help finding articles? Questions about APA formatting or citations? Ask Amy, your class librarian, for assistance.
You can self-schedule an appointment in Starfish.
- Go to Blackboard or myPortal
- Click on Starfish
- This should take you to the My Success Network page. If not, choose My Success Network from the menu (look for the three lines on the top left to open the menu.)
- In the Health Sciences Library box, select schedule appointment.
Example of searching in a database
Below is a sample search in one of our databases. Many of these features are available in our different databases. The options might look different in different databases, because they are owned by different companies.
Please note: You will not see a peer-review limiter in MEDLINE Complete, this is because they say almost 99% of their materials are peer-reviewed. If you have questions about a particular publication, you can search the Internet for more information about the publication or ask a librarian.
Example of a record in a database
A note about interlibrary loan
Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).