Tutorial, specifically geared to nurses, developed by Penn State.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsContains full text articles, including protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine (EBM) and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.
PubMed Clinical QueriesPubMed Clinical Queries provides a search "hedge" to find the evidence! Check the results under "Clinical Study Category"
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles. Also searches MEDLINEs Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.TRIP Database requires a free registration which allows a limited number of free searches.
SumSearchSimultaneously searches for studies (original studies and systematic reviews) and practice guidelines from PubMed, National Guideline Clearinghouse, and DARE and merged into one list sorted by year of publication.
ACP Journal Club"Summaries of the Best New Clinical Evidence." The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine
Bandolier"Evidence-based thinking about health care" is their slogan. Bandolier is an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare published in the UK.
National Guideline ClearinghouseA comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
Natural MedicinesHigh quality, evidence-based information on dietary supplements (including herbs, vitamins, and minerals), functional foods, diets, complementary practices, exercises, and medical conditions.
DynaMedDynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.
Nursing Reference CenterPLUSNursing Reference Center PLUS is the top tier of this exceptional evidence-based information resource, designed specifically for nurses. NRC+ enables nurses to answers to questions quickly, strengthen their clinical--and non-clinical--skills, consult an extensive video collection, earn CE credit, and locate subject-specific full-text journal articles and skill summaries.
UptoDateUptoDate is a clinical decision support system. It uses current evidence and expert opinion to answer clinical questions at the point of care. This saves clinicians time, improves outcomes and lowers health care costs. (Currently only available to users on an LGH or PA College campus location.)