Skip to main content

Library News: Library News

Closing and changes in hours

Independence Day

In accordance with Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences' holiday closing schedule, the Health Sciences Library will be closed in observance of Independence Day on Friday, July 3. Urgent patient care requests will be processed, but other requests will be handled on Monday, July 6.

Health Sciences Library staffing until further notice

The Health Sciences Library operations will be completely virtual now until further notice; PA College is closing its campus though maintaining normal operations virtually during this time out of an abundance of caution to proactively protect our students, staff, and faculty from COVID-19. Please note there are no active cases on campus, but we are being proactive. Librarians will also suspend our regular Tuesday staffing at 410 N. Lime Street until further notice.  We will be available by email (our preferred method of communication) and phone (please leave a message if we are unable to answer your call immediately) during this time, and we can arrange web conferencing as well. All literature searches and article requests will be processed as usual.

 

Regular hours:

  • Greenfield: Monday-Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM (staffed); Learning Commons at Greenfield is accessible any time the Cooper Building is accessible.
  • Beginning January 21 - 410 North Lime Street in first floor lounge: Tuesdays 8:30 AM – 12:30 PM and by appointment 
  • Please note that the library follows the delayed and closing schedule for Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences.

‚Äč

Questions and requests outside of these hours can be submitted using our library forms: http://www.pacollege.edu/library/forms/ 

Library updates

Database Trial 

The Health Sciences Library has been able to set up a trial of two Alexander Street Press video collections. This expires on June 15, and it should help you find resources to substitute for or supplement face to face clinical instruction through the spring and most of the first summer session. We would greatly appreciate your feedback through this short survey after you try out the databases so we know if we should consider licensing the databases after the trial. The survey link is available here and at the end of the email.

We have two video collection trials: Nursing Education (Medcom) and Nursing and Mental Health. The Nursing Education videos are accredited by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Videos include a transcript where the current section of the video being spoken is highlighted. Also, faculty can sign in to create your own clips from videos to share with students if you just want students to watch part of a video,  and the videos have embed codes to be able to embed in your Blackboard course.

Here are the links for the trials. Log in to them as you would log in to any PA College database off campus:

Nursing Education video collection:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/pacollege.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fvideo.alexanderstreet.com%2Fchannel%2Fnursing-education-in-video-third-edition

Nursing and Mental Health video collection:
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/pacollege.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fsearch.alexanderstreet.com%2Fnmhv


Also, please take a look at the guides provided by Alexander Street Press for more information:

Nursing Education in Video: https://alexanderstreet.com/products/nursing-education-video-third-edition

Nursing and Mental Health in Video: https://alexanderstreet.com/products/nursing-and-mental-health-video-symptom-media-collection


Again, we ask that you complete this survey after viewing the video collections: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdRzxJ0G3xfGWqpDRpOW3wzWhO4SYI2EStb2ZTLBI-mk8I_Eg/viewform?usp=sf_link


If you have any questions about these collections, please contact library@pacollege.edu.

 

 

Common Book Program

This year's common book is Rebecca Skloot's The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks. For more information on the Common Book program at PA College, click here. This program supports PA Forward's basic literacy.

 

#basicliteracy

New books RSS feed

The Learning Commons now has an RSS feed to provide you with updates on new print books added to the library collection. This is updated monthly. Here is the link to the guide (please use a browser other than Google Chrome): https://l92024.eos-intl.net/L92024/Public/DiscoveryRSS.rss?FeedID=4 

PA Forward

The Learning Commons is a proud participant in the Pennsylvania Library Association's PA Forward initiative. 

This initiative focuses on the five literacies that libraries help develop in their patrons:

  • Basic literacy
  • Information literacy
  • Civic and social literacy
  • Health literacy
  • Financial literacy

Our Learning Commons is always working to promote these literacies. We are currently offering programs that support basic literacy and civic and social literacy. For more information, click here.

#PaForward

 

 

Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).PA Forward logo