Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide contains resources to help you with your HSC 320 assignments. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you you need any help finding information, making sure information is credible, or citing sources. You will find my contact information below with my picture.
-Amy, your class librarian
Logging into library resources (OpenAthens)
In order to use library resources, you will need to login. New: PA College and Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health users can use their respective credentials to login to library resources. A separate OpenAthens account and password is no longer necessary.
Logging in with OpenAthens
Click here for detailed instructions including screenshots on how to access library resources using an OpenAthens login.
Suggested databases to find information
Try searching the library databases (collections of resources) below to find information for your assignments. You will need to evaluate the information you find to determine if it is credible and appropriate for your assignment. This page has more information on evaluating sources. All the databases below are owned by the same company and work in a similar manner. See the boxes below for some search suggestions.
Business Source Premier
The industrys most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Health Business Fulltext Elite
Provides comprehensive journal content detailing all aspects of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management.
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
If the image is too small, try right-clicking on the image to view the image.
There are various writing assistance options available through PA College.
- Writing Assistance (in Starfish): Schedule an appointment for assistance in Starfish. You can select an available time that works into your schedule to meet with someone from our writing assistance team.
- Drop-in tutoring: Check out this Academic Support calendar for drop-in tutoring sessions, which includes writing assistance.
- Grammarly: Grammarly automatically detects grammar, spelling, punctuation, word choice, and style mistakes in your writing. The Learning Commons provides access to the premium version of Grammarly, which you can find more information on here.
- Smarthinking (in Blackboard): This is an online tutoring service that provides on-demand tutoring in math, biology, A&P and more. There is also an option where you can submit your writing to get feedback. In Blackboard, look for the Smarthinking box under your list of courses. See below for common questions of which option in Smarthinking to select.
- APA help: Work with a Tutor or Career Coach -> Writing -> APA Formatting
- Questions needing a nursing or health sciences content specialist: Submit My Writing -> Nursing Essays or Allied Health Essays (depends on subject area)
- Help with grammar, mechanics, and formatting: Submit My Writing-> Grammar and Documentation Review
- Help with a Microsoft PowerPoint presentation: Work with a Tutor or Career Coach -> Computers & Technology -> Microsoft PowerPoint
- ESL support: You can schedule an appointment for ESL support in Starfish. In Starfish, look for Academic ESL Support on the My Success Network page to pick a day and time for your appointment.
If you have any questions or issues accessing any of these services, please email: email@example.com
Need help with APA formatting, references, and citations? Check out the library's APA guide: http://pacollege.libguides.com/APA You can also schedule an appointment with a librarian in Starfish.
Need more help?
Need some help finding articles? Questions about APA formatting or citations? Ask Amy, your class librarian, for assistance.
You can self-schedule an appointment in Starfish.
- Go to Blackboard or myPortal
- Click on Starfish
- This should take you to the My Success Network page. If not, choose My Success Network from the menu (look for the three lines on the top left to open the menu.)
- In the Health Sciences Library box, select schedule appointment.
Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).