Skip to main content

NUR 111: Learning Commons Resources

This guide with help you with your annotated bibliography for NUR111.

Made Incredibly Easy Collection

Made Incredibly Easy Collection, part of LWW Health Library

APA help

Need help with APA formatting, references, and citations?  Check out the library's APA guide: http://pacollege.libguides.com/APA  You can also schedule an appointment with a librarian in Starfish.

Writing assistance

Picture of people working together over a piece of written work.There are various writing assistance options available through PA College.

  • Writing Assistance (in Starfish): Schedule an appointment for assistance in Starfish.  You can select an available time that works into your schedule to meet with someone from our writing assistance team.
  • Drop-in tutoring: Check out this Academic Support calendar for drop-in tutoring sessions, which includes writing assistance.
  • Grammarly: Grammarly automatically detects grammar, spelling, punctuation, word choice, and style mistakes in your writing.  The Learning Commons provides access to the premium version of Grammarly, which you can find more information on here.​
  • Smarthinking (in Blackboard): This is an online tutoring service that provides on-demand tutoring in math, biology, A&P and more.  There is also an option where you can submit your writing to get feedback.  In Blackboard, look for the Smarthinking box under your list of courses.  See below for common questions of which option in Smarthinking to select.
    • APA help: Work with a Tutor or Career Coach -> Writing -> APA Formatting
    • Questions needing a nursing or health sciences content specialist: Submit My Writing -> Nursing Essays or Allied Health Essays (depends on subject area)
    • Help with grammar, mechanics, and formatting: Submit My Writing-> Grammar and Documentation Review
  • ESL support: You can schedule an appointment for ESL support in Starfish.   In Starfish, look for Academic ESL Support on the My Success Network page to pick a day and time for your appointment.

Tutoring

Two people working together over a computerThere are various free tutoring opportunities available through PA College.

  • Faculty drop-in: Some subject areas have faculty drop-in tutoring available in the Learning Commons.  See the schedule here
  • Peer tutoring: There might be a peer tutor available for your class.  In Starfish, look for Courses on the menu (three lines on the top left-hand corner) to see if there is a tutor for your course.
  • Virtual: Click here to access Smarthinking, an online tutoring service that provides on-demand tutoring in math, biology, A&P and more.  There is also an option where you can submit your writing to get feedback.
  • ESL support: You can schedule an appointment with an ESL tutor in Starfish.   In Starfish, look for My Success Network on the menu (three lines on the top left-hand corner) to pick a day and time for your appointment.

Learner support

Tools to keep your organized The Learning Commons has resources to help you with study and testing skills along with help to balance your coursework and life.  Check out the modules and links on this page for more information.  For assistance with any academic support skills, you can schedule an appointment with our Learner Support Coordinator, a peer tutor, or an ESL tutor through Starfish.

Scheduling an appointment in Starfish

Starfish provides students with the opportunity to schedule appointments with different campus services and peer tutors.  This includes Academic Technology, Learner support, and Library appointments.

  • Finding Starfish: From MyPortal or Blackboard, click on Starfish and login with your PA College credentials.
  • Scheduling an appointment: Some campus resources might provide the opportunity to self-schedule appointments online.
    • Click on the menu option on the top left-hand side (the three lines).
    • From the drop-down menu, select My Success Network (Number 1 and blue circle below) to see the individuals and services in your success network.
    • If you see a schedule appointment option (Example marked with number 2 and green circle below), you can click that to self-schedule an appointment.
  • Peer tutoring: If you are interested in finding a peer tutor, click on Courses (Letter A and purple circle below).  If there is a peer tutor available for your course, you will see that information in the same box as the course.  Please note that faculty drop-in tutoring can be found at MyPortal -> Academic Success -> Learning Commons -> Academic Support Calendar

 

If you go to the menu on Starfish, you can choose either My Success Network or courses to see scheduling options.

Have a question? Ask me

Amy Snyder's picture
Amy Snyder
Contact:
Learning Commons
717-947-6215

Staff Availability

Greenfield (Learning Commons at Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences):
Monday–Friday: 5:30 a.m.–11:00 p.m.
Saturday–Sunday: 6:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Space only staffed Monday–Friday: 8:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. with other hours available by appointment

 

410 North Lime Street:

Beginning January 21 - Tuesdays 8:30 AM – 12:30 PM and by appointment 

 

Please check Library News​ for any changes to hours including during semester breaks

Contacting Us

Locations:

  • Greenfield at Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences' Learning Commons

  • Beginning January 21 - 410 North Lime Street

Email: Library@PACollege.edu   

Telephone: 717-947-6022

Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).PA Forward logo