TOXNET accesses databases on toxicology, hazardous materials, environmental health, and toxic releases. These databases can be searched all at once using the TOXNET portal or individually.
- PubMed citations
- TOXLINE (Toxic Literature Online): TOXLINE is a bibliographic database with an assortment of citations from specialized journals and other sources. It provides references covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
- DART (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology): DART provides more than 400,000 journal references covering teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology.
Chemical Databases (more can be found on the TOXNET portal)
- ChemIDplus and ChemIDplus Advanced: Chemical database is a dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.
- Haz-Map: An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.
- Hazardous Substance Data Bank (HSDB): HSDB is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas. The information in HSDB has been assessed by a Scientific Review Panel.
- Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS):IRIS contains data in support of human health risk assessment, including hazard identification and dose-response assessments. It is compiled by the U.S. EPAand contains descriptive and quantitative information related to human cancer and non-cancer health effects that may result from exposure to substances in the environment.
- International Toxicity Estimates for Risk Assessment (ITER): ITER contains data in support of human health risk assessments. It is compiled by Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA) and contains data from CDC/ATSDR, Health Canada, RIVM, U.S. EPA, IARC, NSF International and independent parties offering peer-reviewed risk values. ITER provides comparison charts of international risk assessment information and explains differences in risk values derived by different organizations.
- Toxics Release Inventory (TRI): The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a set of publicly available databases containing information on releases of specific toxic chemicals and their management as waste, as reported annually by U.S. industrial and federal facilities.
- TOXMAP: Interactive environmental health maps showing locations of toxic chemical releases and hazardous waste sites. Geographic representation of TRI data with links to HSDB and other TOXNET resources.