Skip to main content

Graduate Student Guide: Library Resources and Tutorials

Library Resources and Tutorials

This page provides information on accessing the resources the library has in its collection. The "library tutorials" box below has a video introducing you to the library home page as well as tutorials on using certain databases. The "working with resources" box provides information to help you perform an effective search and evaluate your sources.

For help using specific resources or planning and performing your research, please contact a librarian.

OpenAthens authentication to access library resources

In order to access library resources, you need to login using OpenAthens, a system that allows us to authenticate your affiliation with the library.  

PA College users -log in using your college email address and password.

Penn Medicine LGH users - log in using your LGH username and password.

See the link below for detailed instructions and screen shots.

Library Tutorials

Working with Resources

ACLCP

The College is part of the Associated College Libraries of Central PA (ACLCP) consortium. This means that our PA College students may borrow books free of charge from other member libraries. To view the list of member libraries, click here

ALL Databases, A to Z

CLICK HERE for ALL DATABASES
Many additional top quality, librarian-recommended resources are also at your fingertips, covering a wide variety of biomedical and other topical areas.

Already know which specific database you need? Find it fast by using the search box below. 

 

Locating Print and Electronic Books

Finding Print Books and eBooks

The library maintains records of its print books and electronic books (eBooks) in its catalogs. 

To find eBooks, click the "Find eBooks" link on the library home page. You can then enter keywords in the title, the full title, or search by subjects. 

If you want to search print books, from the library home page, you can click on the "Find  Library Resources in Print" link, which will take you to the online public access catalog (OPAC) search screen in its Advanced search mode. You can enter as much information about the book as you know, or you can choose to search by subject or keyword. The Simple search screen allows you to perform a keyword search. If the library owns books which matches your search criteria, the OPAC loads a results display. Clicking on the title in the search results page takes you to a detailed record, which provide more information about the book, and its shelving location. 

Circulation

In most cases, physical books in the library collection may be checked out for a two-week period. The exceptions to this policy are books placed on Reserve for a course, or Reference books. Reference books are shelved with other books in the general collection, but they are indicated with a "REF" code at the top of the book's call number. Reserve books are shelved in the reserve section of the library.

Distance Learner Resources

Distance Learning students may come to the library and borrow books, or they may request print books be sent to them. If a book is not owned by the library, the library will use Interlibrary Loan to try to borrow the book from another health sciences library. Please use the Interlibrary Article/Book Request form on the library home page to request a book that the library does not own. Also, be aware that all requests may not be obtainable, especially if the book is not health sciences-related.

Lancaster General Health

You may request to pick up books at the library's location at LGH if this is more convenient; you may also return books to that location. Also, for those working in the LGH system, we can send you books via interoffice mail and you may return them via interoffice mail, too.

Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).PA Forward logo