Consumer and Patient Health: Resource Links for Professionals and Consumers

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.

Care in Pennsylvania is a new (2017) resource to help patients take a more active role in your health care decisions. Whether you are searching for a new physician or researching the best hospital for an upcoming procedure, you can use this tool to help you make the best choices for your particular situation.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study. Studies are generally submitted to the Web site (that is, registered) when they begin, and the information on the site is updated throughout the study. In some cases, results of the study are submitted after the study ends. This Web site and database of clinical studies is commonly referred to as a "registry and results database."

DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster and public health emergency preparedness, response, and recovery. Our intent is to connect people to quality disaster health information and foster a culture of community resiliency.

DocFinder contains the licensing background and disciplinary information of physicians and other health care practitioners from those states that practice. In addition, DocFinder includes physician profile information from states that have passed physician profile laws. Very popular with consumers, DocFinder has been featured in numerous state and national publications such as Newsweek Magazine and The Wall Street Journal as well as national and local news broadcasts.

Familydoctor.org is the American Academy of Family Physician's (AAFP) award-winning consumer website, featuring physician-reviewed patient education materials.

Welcome to healthfinder.gov, a government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.

Whether you’re here to learn more about a health condition, research a medication, tap into one of our communities, or get some tips for a healthier lifestyle, you’re in the right place. You’ll find content that’s informative, easy to understand, and engaging. You’ll also find a compassionate team of professionals who genuinely care about people.

A library of consumer and patient health resources provided by Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health.

Hospital Compare- Opens in a new window has information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals, including over 130 Veterans Administration (VA) medical centers, across the country. You can use Hospital Compare to find hospitals and compare the quality of their care.

Explore the latest patient information from the JAMA Network, including easy-to-understand information about prevention and management of common illnesses.

Nemours is a nonprofit children's health system. Neil Izenberg, MD, a physician at Nemours, founded KidsHealth.org in 1995. Our goal is to help parents, kids, and teens take charge of their health. We aim to give families the tools and confidence to make the best health choices.

Labdoor is an independent company that tests supplements. We find out whether products have what they claim and if they have any harmful ingredients or contaminants. Then, we grade and rank those products, write reports, and publish that information for free, so consumers can confidently buy the best supplements for their health.

Consumer and patient health information provided by the Mayo Clinic.

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, NJ, USA is a global healthcare leader working to help the world be well. From developing new therapies that treat and prevent disease to helping people in need, we are committed to improving health and well-being around the world. The Merck Manual was first published in 1899 as a service to the community. The legacy of this great resource continues as the Merck Manual in the US and Canada and the MSD Manual outside of North America. Learn more about our commitment to Global Medical Knowledge.

NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of National Institutes of Health, leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease research.

Manufacturers, regulators and consumers look to NSF International for the development of public health standards and certification programs that help protect the world’s food, water, consumer products and environment. Our mission is to protect and improve global human health. As an independent, accredited organization, our standards group facilitates the development of standards, and our service groups test and certify products and systems. We also provide auditing and risk management solutions for public health and the environment.

Founded in 1944 as the National Sanitation Foundation, we changed our name to NSF International in 1990 as we expanded our services beyond sanitation and into global markets. The letters in our organization's name do not represent any specific words today.

AHRQ Patient Safety Network (PSNet) is a national web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources on patient safety. The site offers weekly updates of patient safety literature, news, tools, and meetings ("Current Issue"), and a vast set of carefully annotated links to important research and other information on patient safety ("The Collection").

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

At USP, everything we do is in service of our mission to help protect and improve the health of people around the world. From the standards we create to the partnerships we foster, we continually work to build and reinforce a foundation that draws us closer to a world where everyone can be confident of quality in health and healthcare.