Skip to main content

NUR 111: Annotated Bibliography Assignment

This guide with help you with your annotated bibliography for NUR111.

Welcome

Welcome ASN students!

 

Below are resources that you might found helpful for your annotated bibliography assignment.  Keep scrolling down for screenshots and specific suggestions for your article search.  

 

Check out the Learning Commons Resources tab above for writing and tutoring opportunities available to you.  

 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me (contact information below on the right.)

- Amy

Searching for peer-reviewed journal articles

Looking for an article for this project?  

Try searching CINAHL below to find them.  Not sure what a scholarly journal is?  Take a look at the information on this page to see what makes this source different.

 

Suggestions for your article search:

  • Put your topic in the search box.  Please note that CINAHL will match any words in your search box, so if you use an abbreviation and the author wrote out what the abbreviation stood for, you might miss potential articles.
  • Use the limiters to help focus your list of results.  Your faculty member might have criteria listed on your assignment that you will find as limiters in a library database.
    • Journal subset: This can help you limit your results to nursing journals.
    • Scholarly (also called Peer Reviewed) Journals: This will help you meet the criteria of this assignment.
    • Date: This will help you meet the criteria of this assignment.  You can set a starting date that corresponds with how far back you want to look at articles.
    • Full-text: This will show you articles you should have immediate access to.
    • Language: There are non-English articles in CINAHL, you can use the language option to show you only articles in a language you can read.

 

If you have trouble: You might need to think of other search terms.  This page has more information on coming up with those terms.  You can always ask for help.  Your class librarian's contact information is listed on the right-hand side.

Logging into library resources (OpenAthens)

In order to use library resources, you will need to login.  New: PA College and Penn Medicine Lancaster General Health users can use their respective credentials to login to library resources.  A separate OpenAthens account and password is no longer necessary.

Link to CINAHL

Try searching CINAHL to find your article.

Research party!

You are invited to a research party!

Working on a paper?  Looking for credible information for an assignment?  Have questions about APA? Want assistance with writing? 

English faculty and Library staff will be available to work with you and your classmates on things like research, citations, and writing.  No need to sign-up.  Just stop by with your assignment and join the festivities.

  • Monday, October 14 from 3:30-5:00pm in Learning Commons classroom 1050 (drop-in)
  • Thursday, October 17 from 11:00am-12:30pm in Learning Commons computer lab 1035 (drop-in)

 If you have any questions, please contact Amy Snyder, Education Librarian, at ansnyder@pacollege.edu.

 

Research party with technology and party supplies

#informationliteracy

Have a question? Ask me

Amy Snyder's picture
Amy Snyder
Contact:
Learning Commons
717-947-6215

Searching CINAHL

 

This is what the initial search screen looks like in CINAHL.  If you would like a larger image, try right clicking to view the image on a new tab or page.  See above for suggested limiters to add to your search.

You have options to put your search terms and add limiters to your search in CINAHL.

 

After you do a search, the search results page should look something like this.

 

CINAHL search results page

 

If you click on the title of an article, you will see a screen like this.

Article record in CINAHL including a link to full-text, citation help, and an option to email the article

APA formatting and citations

Your annotated bibliography entry will have two parts.

Part One:  Here is a sample reference from CINAHL that you can use as an example of what your reference should look like.

 

Part Two:  These are two example of annotated bibliographies, watch that you follow the APA versions.

Health Sciences Library - Seraph Learning Commons - Cooper Building - 850 Greenfield Road - Lancaster, PA 17601 - Library@PACollege.edu - (717 947-6022).PA Forward logo